[New Topic]   [Reply]
[Edit Profile]  [Edit Your Preferences]  [Search]
[Private Messages]  [Memberslist]  [FAQ]  [Login]
MUDII Forum Index » » MUD2 Clients » » Not so much a rant....
Author Not so much a rant....
royston
ranger

Posted: 09-07-2015 12:07   
Not so much a rant about clients as a comment on frustration when trying to use them and perhaps a plea for help.

Let me start by saying that I am no computer expert. I can operate one - I suppose but I have no idea how they work. It is often assumed I have some basic knowledge which is succinctly untrue. I have none.

When I first started playing MUD in about the mid-eighties there were no MUD clients and we all logged in from the MUD website. Only it was Computerserve then I seem to remember. Then when I took it up again about ten years ago I wanted to log my games in order to help in the making of a map. Foddy explained to me that I needed a thing called a client. I tried several and found Clio to be the one most suited to my needs. It logged my games (essential I later found when I was doing Bash reports), and I found several other useful tricks. Being able to repeat the last command simply by hitting the <ENTER> key speeded my trips across the Land no end. Also by modifying what I assumed was a Batch file I could get straight into theTR just by clicking an icon on my wall paper without any of that lengthy log on procedure. Another plus. Then found that I could sort of program the function keys to do string commands. Are these called ‘macros’? Being able to flee and quit just by tapping F9 saved me a couple of times when suddenly my stam dropped below 10. But Macros seemed to be frowned upon and I gave these up.