[New Topic]   [Reply]
[Edit Profile]  [Edit Your Preferences]  [Search]
[Private Messages]  [Memberslist]  [FAQ]  [Login]
MUDII Forum Index MUD2 Clients Help
Author Help
royston
ranger

Joined: Jul 14, 2007
Posts: 1217
From: Felixstowe, Suffolk.
Posted: 19-12-2010 11:01   
I have been happily playing for a couple of years now on a Laptop running on Windows XP using the Clio client. I have now acquired a new desktop that runs on Windows 7.

Clio on the new computer will not go full screen. <ALT>+<ENTER> simply does not work. I have downloaded mudiiclient (is that the same as mud2client?) which I like a lot and which does go full screen and looks tidy. But I do not know how to save a record of the log for future reference (essential for Bash Reports and mapping) nor how to set up the Function Keys (F1 ? F12) to run macros (a useful feature on Clio but not essential).

_________________


  View Profile of royston   Email royston      Edit/Delete This Post   Reply with quote
Vulnax
explorer

Joined: Oct 19, 2001
Posts: 639
From: North West
Posted: 19-12-2010 12:03   
CLio has the same problem with Vista too Royston.
I asked the author and it's something to do with how windowze draws the window or similar, and the alt+return do not do it. I think I could drag thewindow to full screen but not sure.

Re the other client, sorry, haven't tried it, but is there a help file / doc file with it?

Is it the client Havoc wrote?

Cheers

Merry xmas!

Vully


  View Profile of Vulnax   Goto the website of Vulnax        Edit/Delete This Post   Reply with quote
Hawumph
Arch-Wizard



Joined: Jan 23, 2002
Posts: 360
From: Somewhere you don't want to go!
Posted: 19-12-2010 19:47   
You can't get it full screen, but can probably get it alot better than the 25 line default dos box size.

I use Vista but should be the same in 7, if not, let me know and I'll try it.

Anyway, here's the Clio instructions:

Click the start button etc till you get to the Connect to mudii.co.uk icon. Then instead of clicking it, RIGHT-click it, and select properties.

Go to the LAYOUT tab, and make a note of the numbers under Screen Buffer and Windows size. Just in case you want to put them back to normal.

Then set both to 120 / 60

Apply it, close it, and run it.

That should give you pretty much full screen height and a reasonable width.

There are other tricks like altering font size but this just works for me.


_________________

How 'bout them transparent dangling carrots? It's not fair to deny me, the cross-eyed bear that you gave to me. You otter know!!!


  View Profile of Hawumph   Email Hawumph   Goto the website of Hawumph      Edit/Delete This Post   Reply with quote
royston
ranger

Joined: Jul 14, 2007
Posts: 1217
From: Felixstowe, Suffolk.
Posted: 19-12-2010 23:18   
Thank you for those inputs. I have already had a bit of a go at it, following what Hawumph suggested, and it is looking a whole lot better already. I will have a serious mess around with it in the morning.

  View Profile of royston   Email royston      Edit/Delete This Post   Reply with quote
royston
ranger

Joined: Jul 14, 2007
Posts: 1217
From: Felixstowe, Suffolk.
Posted: 20-12-2010 15:35   
I cannot tell you how dead chuffed I am now that I have got this all sorted out. I also changed to a clearer font and more importantly made bit bigger so I can easily read it.

Thank again for your help.



  View Profile of royston   Email royston      Edit/Delete This Post   Reply with quote
[New Topic]   [Reply]
Lock this Topic Move this Topic Delete this Topic

These forums may be read by anyone, but only registered mudII.co.uk
players may post. When posting, please refrain from behaviour
not tolerated in the game.

These forums are moderated.

Powered by phpBB
Copyright © 2000 - 2001 The phpBB Group

phpBB Created this page in 0.012264 seconds.